Efficient pH measurement technology in flue gas desulphurisation plants

When organic material is burned in power plants or during various procedures of process engineering, noxious gases form that are not permitted to enter the environment without aftertreatment.

The treatments required include extracting the sulphur dioxide that results during the burning process from the flue gas. In larger plants, a wet process (see box) is generally used for this purpose. Having been used for this method since 1978, Pfaudler probes have proven a long-lasting and low-maintenance solution for measuring pH.

The flue gas desulphurisation (FGD) probe’s purpose is to set the optimum pH value of the scrubbing suspension during wet desulphurisation*. A fundamental problem of measuring pH in FGD is that stubborn scale deposits accumulate on the pH probe in just a short time. These deposits lead to impairment or even failure of the pH measurement. Because of this, conventional pH sensors must be removed or cleaned with acid at short intervals, which results in high operating and maintenance costs. When a Pfaudler pH probe is installed, the smooth enamelled surface and robust design prevents scale deposits from accumulating at the recommended inflow velocity of 1.5-2m/s. Some pH probes have been in constant use for over 25 years. The probe usually only needs to be maintained or calibrated when the entire plant is shut down once a year for maintenance.

* The method used most often for the desulphurisation of exhaust gases is the extremely efficient wet scrubbing method, wherein the acidic-in-solution sulphur dioxide is sequestered by an alkaline scrubbing suspension in a scrubbing tower (absorbing tower). Calcium carbonate is usually used for neutralisation here. The calcium sulphite that results from the process is converted into calcium sulphate (gypsum) in the lower part of the absorbing tower by supplying air into it. It is then used as a building material in the construction industry.

Combined pH/ORP measurement in a power plant

Since early 2000, combined pH/ORP (oxidation-reduction potential) probes have been used in FGD plants to monitor the AOX compounds found in the effluent water. This allows both measurements in the washing suspension to be recorded at the same time with just one measurement probe and one transducer. Pfaudler pH probes that are already in place can be replaced easily, since they are mechanically and electrically compatible. Pfaudler pH/ORP ring probes are generally used with a nominal size of DN 50. They are used directly in the pipeline between a flange connection, which prevents the pipeline’s cross-section from narrowing and achieves a lower probe abrasion.

Enamelled ring probes – The facts

  • Consistent measuring accuracy over the entire service life (no ageing)
  • No scale build-up thanks to smooth enamelled surfaces
  • Minimal maintenance due to lack of cleaning/calibration processes
  • No retractable assembly required
  • Robust against mechanical impacts
  • Extremely resistant to corrosion
  • Resistant to pressure pulses
  • Shock-resistant to ∆T at max. 120°C
  • Can be used with high flow rates
  • Can be stored dry for any length of time
  • Simultaneous measurement of pH and ORP values

Operating instructions for the Pfaudler ring-probe type 03

Wartungsfreie pH-Messung im Rauchgaswäscher

Die pH-Messung in der Rauchgasentschwefelung unterliegt extremen Anforderungen. Pfaudler pH-Elektroden sind mit diesen Aufgaben seit jahrzehnten erfolgreich in vielen Anlagen wartungfrei im Betrieb.

Bei der Verbrennung von organischem Material in Kraftwerken oder unterschiedlichen verfahrenstechnischen Prozessen entstehen Schadgase, die ohne Nachbehandlung nicht in die Umwelt gelangen dürfen.

Erforderlich ist es unter anderem das beim Verbrennungsprozess entstehende Schwefeldioxid dem Rauchgas zu entziehen. Hierfür wird bei grösseren Anlagen in aller Regel ein Nassverfahren* eingesetzt. In diesem Verfahren haben sich die bereits seit 1978 im Einsatz befindlichen Pfaudler Sonden als langlebige und wartungsarme Lösung für die pH-Messung bewährt.

*Das am häufigsten eingesetzte Verfahren zur Entschwefelung von Abgasen ist das sehr effizient arbeitende Nassverfahren. Dabei wird das in Lösung saure Schwefeldioxid in einem Waschturm (Absorberturm) durch eine alkalische Waschsuspension gebunden. Hierbei wird meist Calciumcarbonat zur Neutralisation verwendet. Das bei diesem Prozess entstehende Calciumsulfit wird durch das Einblasen von Luft (Aufoxidation) im unteren Teil des Absorberturms  in Calciumsulfat (Gips) umgewandelt. Dieser kommt als Baustoff in der Bauindustrie zum Einsatz.

Die Rauchgas-Entschwefelungs-Sonde (REA-Sonde) dient dazu, bei der Nassentschwefelung den pH-Wert der Waschsuspension optimal einzustellen. Ein grundsätzliches Problem bei der pH-Messung in der REA entsteht dadurch, dass sich bereits nach kurzer Zeit ein hartnäckiger Kalkbelag an der pH-Sonde anlagert. Dieser Belag führt dazu dass die pH-Messung beeinträchtigt wird, bzw. ganz ausfällt. Konventionelle pH-Sensoren müssen daher in kurzen Zeitintervallen ausgebaut, oder mit Säure gereinigt werden, was hohe Betriebs- und Wartungskosten verursacht. Durch den Einbau einer Pfaudler pH-Sonde wird durch die glatte emaillierte Fläche und die robuste Bauweise, bei einer empfohlenen Anströmgeschwindigkeit von 1,5-2m/s, ein Ansetzen von Kalkablagerungen verhindert. Es gibt pH-Sonden die seit über 25 Jahren permanent im Einsatz sind. Eine Wartung bzw. Kalibrierung der Sonde ist meist erst erforderlich wenn die gesamte Anlage einmal im Jahr zur Wartung abgeschaltet wird.

Kombinierte pH/ORP Messung im Kraftwerk

Seit Anfang 2000 kommen kombinierte pH/ORP-Sonden (Oxidations-Reduktions-Potential) in REA-Anlagen zum Einsatz um die im Abwasser befindlichen AOX-Verbindungen zu überwachen. Damit ist es möglich mit nur einer Messsonde und einem Messumformer, simultan beide Messwerte in der Waschsuspension zu erfassen. Bereits vorhandene Pfaudler pH-Sonden können einfach ausgetauscht werden da sie mechanisch und elektrisch kompatibel sind. Pfaudler pH/ORP-Ringsonden kommen in der Regel mit einer Nennweite von DN 50 zum Einsatz. Diese werden direkt in die Leitung zwischen einer Flanschverbindung eingesetzt. Dadurch wird eine Verengung des Leitungsquerschnitts verhindert und eine geringere Abrasion der Sonde erzielt.

Die Fakten emaillierter Ring-Sonden im Kurz-Überblick

  • Gleichbleibende Messgenauigkeit über die gesamte Lebensdauer (keine Alterung)
  • Keine Kalkanhaftungen durch glatt emaillierte Oberflächen
  • Minimaler Wartungsaufwand aufgrund fehlender Reinigungs-/Kalibriervorgänge
  • Keine Wechselarmatur notwendig
  • Robust gegen mechanische Einwirkungen
  • Extrem korrosionsbeständig
  • Beständig gegen Druckimpulse
  • Schockfest bis ∆T max. 120°C
  • Einsatz bei hohen Strömungsgeschwindigkeiten
  • Unbegrenzt trocken lagerfähig
  • Gleichzeitige Messung von pH- und ORP-Wert

Bedienungsanleitung pH-Ring Elektrode von Pfaudler Typ 03